US House of Representatives:

Out for August recess


US Senate:




Full Committee Hearing

America’s Affordable Housing Crisis: Challenges and Solutions

August 1, 2017 10:00 AM

215 Dirksen Senate Office Building


Witness Panel:

Daniel Garcia-Diaz, Director, Financial Markets And Community Investment, United States Government Accountability Office


Grant S. Whitaker, President, National Council of State Housing Agencies


The Honorable Katherine M. O’Regan, PhD, Professor Of Public Policy And Planning; Faculty Director, Furman Center For Real Estate And Urban Policy, Robert F. Wagner Graduate School Of Public Service, New York University


Kirk McClure, PhD, Professor, Urban Planning Program, School Of Public Policy And Administration, College Of Liberal Arts And Sciences, University of Kansas


Granger MacDonald, Chairman Of The Board Of Directors, National Association of Home Builders


Full Committee Hearing


August 3, 2017 10:00 AM

215 Dirksen Senate Office Building


Witness Panel:

Gilbert B. Kaplan, Of The District Of Columbia, To Be Under Secretary Of Commerce For International Trade, United States Department of Commerce


Matthew Bassett, Of Tennessee, To Be An Assistant Secretary Of Health And Human Services


United States Department of Health and Human Services




Business Meeting

August 2, 2017

Location TBD

The Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship will hold a business meeting on Wednesday, August 2, 2017 to consider the following legislative measures:


1) S. 154, Small Business Relief from Disease Induced Economic Hardship Act

2) S. 650, Support Small Business R&D Act of 2017

3) S. 690, HUBZone Investment Protection Act

4) S. 929, Invest in Rural Small Business Act of 2017

5) S. 1038, A bill to require the Administrator of the Small Business Administration to submit to Congress a report on the utilization of small businesses with respect to certain Federal contracts

6) S. 1428, Small Business Cyber Training Act of 2017



Executive Session

Full Committee Markup

August 2, 2017 at 10:00 a.m.

Senate Hart Building 216




  1. S. 374, Concrete Masonry Products Research, Education, and Promotion Act of 2017, Sponsors: Sens. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.V.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)
  2. S. 754, Cyber Scholarship Opportunities Act of 2017, Sponsors: Sens. Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)
  3. S. 1322, American Fisheries Advisory Committee Act, Sponsors: Sens. Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)
  4. S. 1425, Coordinated Ocean Monitoring and Research Act, Sponsors: Sens. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)
  5. S. 1532, No Human Trafficking on Our Roads Act, Sponsors: Sens. John Thune (R-S.D.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.)
  6. S. 1536, Combating Human Trafficking in Commercial Vehicles Act, Sponsors: Sens. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.)
  7. S. 1586, Great Lakes Environmental Sensitivity Index Act, Sponsors: Sens. Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Todd Young (R-Ind.)
  8. S. 1621, A bill to require the Federal Communications Commission to establish a methodology for the collection by the Commission of information about commercial mobile service and commercial mobile data service, and for other purposes, Sponsors: Sens. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Joe Manchin (D-W.V.)
  9. Nomination of Ajit Varadaraj Pai, of Kansas, to be a Member of the Federal Communications Commission (Reappointment)
  10. Nomination of Jessica Rosenworcel, of Connecticut, to be a Member of the Federal Communications Commission (Reappointment)
  11. Nomination of Brendan Carr, of Virginia, to be a Member of the Federal Communications Commission (to complete a term and for a new term beginning July 1, 2018)
  12. Nomination of David J. Redl, of New York, to be Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information
  13. Nomination of Peter B. Davidson, of Virginia, to be General Counsel of the Department of Commerce
  14. Nomination of Karen Dunn Kelley, of Pennsylvania, to be Under Secretary of Commerce for Economic Affairs
  15. Nomination of Elizabeth Erin Walsh, of the District of Columbia, to be Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Director General of the United States and Foreign Commercial Service
  16. Nomination of Steven Gill Bradbury, of Virginia, to be General Counsel of the Department of Transportation
  17. Nomination of Mark Buzby, of Virginia, to be Administrator of the Maritime Administration
  18. Nomination of Ronald L. Batory, of New Jersey, to be Administrator of the Federal Railroad Administration
  19. Nomination of Robert L. Sumwalt III, of South Carolina, to be Chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board



Insurance Fraud in America: Current Issues Facing Industry and Consumers

August 3, 2017 10:00 a.m.

Subcommittee on Consumer Protection, Product Safety, Insurance, and Data Security



The Honorable John Doak, Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner, testifying on behalf of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)


Mr. Dennis Jay, Executive Director, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud


Mr. Sean Kevelighan, Chief Executive Officer, Insurance Information Institute


Mr. Tim Lynch, Director of Government Affairs, National Insurance Crime Bureau


Ms. Rachel Weintraub, General Counsel, Consumer Federation of America

Recent Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt